Blessed Start to New Year 2011!

As I mentioned in a previous post, there are a lot of changes in my life this 2011.. and I would like to think they’re good changes and that 2011 is looking up for me.

In the latter part of 2010, I decided I needed to make some tough decisions. This led me to leave the company I’ve been working for for 10 years. It was a hard choice to make but I felt it was really time. With that decision made, I filed for resignation and started using up my leaves. I was able to relax and de-stress especially during the Christmas holidays and spend time at home, with family. At this point, I was busy compiling my requirements for my new job. I had already gone through the pre-employment medical check-up skipping the x-ray for the meantime, just to make sure I wasn’t pregnant. It was just a usual precaution I took because Espie and I have been trying to have a baby for two years, to no avail. I previously had two miscarriages already in 2009 and haven’t been pregnant again since.

Anyway, about a week before I was scheduled to report for my new work, I decided to take a pregnancy test because my requirements were on hold because of the pending x-ray. Lo and behold, when I got two lines on the pregnancy test. And you know what that means.. I was pregnant! I was speechless. It wasn’t

Think Positive!

something I expected. In fact, when I told Espie about it, his response was “o, di nga!?” Fearing for my baby’s safety because of past experience, I decided to go visit an obgyne right away. I also had to provide some certification to my new company that I could not undergo the x-ray. Based on my doctor’s computation, I was about 5 weeks and 2 days along. After another re-confirmation via lab test, I was finally convinced that I was indeed pregnant. Espie and I think it was the rest period I had during the holidays which might have helped me conceive.
Since then we have already had the first ultrasound and everything is okay. At 7 weeks and 5 days, we confirmed that our baby had a heartbeat and is in the right position. I was so apprehensive right before the visit and I actually cried when I saw our baby’s heart beating for the very first time. I had the doctor call Espie into the room so he could see for himself. We were both so very, very happy.

Our Baby

As of the moment, I have already been working for my new company for a little over half a month. Ofcourse there is some adjustment and sometimes I think maybe I shouldn’t have left my old company so that I wouldn’t have to adjust or that I would be working the normal hours and not a mid-shift sched. But then Espie and I get to thinking again that if I didn’t resign and get to rest for a few weeks, I might not even be pregnant now. So then we both try to make the best out of the choices we made and somehow get along.

I am now 9 weeks and 5 days along, still moving very carefully, not wanting anything to go wrong. I’m a bit paranoid and I think that’s understandable but I hope and continue to pray for a healthy baby and safe pregnancy. I often am hungry but when faced with the prospect of choosing something to eat, I am frequently at a loss. I am proud to say that I have not yet emptied the contents of my stomach but that is entirely attributable to my willpower. Espie has been a very understanding dad to be and he really takes care of us, cooking for us all the time 🙂

2011 has started off as a good year for us and I hope it continues. I will probably make a few more posts about my pregnancy and how I’m doing in the next few months. I think the title of our blog being “Thirst For Life” that it’s only appropriate that I now have a new life growing inside of me and that I should tell you about it and what a beautiful blessing it is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

